Better to experience through others writing

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “New Skin.”

I am currently writing a novel set in 1190-1205 England and I am very tempted to say I would like to step into my heroine’s shoes and experience the period directly. But in reality I wouldn’t, I write to imagine others’ lives and I read novels for the same reason.

If you changed the time period for a holiday period, 0ne or two weeks, then yes why not? I could visit medieval England, or Georgian, spend time as a man, or change my ethnicity or just my nationality. But to give up a year of my life to be someone else, no thanks.

Leave a Reply

